webinar register page

Clinical Implications of Mandated Reporting
Clinical Implications of Mandated Reporting


Wednesday, March 30, 2022


10:00AM-11:00AM PST/ 12:00PM-1:00PM CST /1:00PM-2:00PM EST
*please note, time of program on zoom is listed in Pacific (PT) time zone

Event held via zoom.


Program Offers 1.0 CEs for Psychologists (APA) , 1.0 CEUs for Illinois state Counselors and Social Workers*, and 1.0 BBS California CEUs for LPCCs, LPSW, and LMFTs.

This one-time program is available at no-cost to all through generous grant support. Space may be limited.

Workshop Description:


The presentation will provide a brief overview of the role of the Mandated Reporter, and the procedures by which to make a mandated report. Most clinicians are familiar with these policies, but find the process frustrating, overwhelming, and anxiety-provoking, as it relates to our relationships with our clients. In addition, clinical and ethical challenges exist related to the disproportionality of family of color in the child welfare system (Child Welfare Information Gateway, 2016).

The clinical implications of working with families throughout this process will be discussed: issues such as when and how to involve caregivers, how to support families during the process, and how to maintain the therapeutic relationship. Also discussed will be ways to differentiate between physical abuse and corporal punishment, in both the legal and clinical context, as well as suggestions for discussing this issue in work with children and families.
* Required information
Loading